Skip to content

So long, 2013.

January 4, 2014

I am the worst blogger on the planet. I said it. I’m trying to be better.

I promise.

Love me.

Anyways, well, 2013 ended very quickly and unexpectedly. It seems that the first half of 2013 dragged along at a turtle pace and then once baby #2 arrived everything went into hyper speed. Now I have a 7 month-old and a 2 year old starting his first Mother’s Day Out program (he LOVES it, by the way).

Our family experienced an over abundance of amazing things this year, let me quickly recap for you my year (however, if you follow me on Instagram these are no shocker).

JANUARY – We were currently living in an apartment with a toddler and trying to decide if we should buy another house or not. We were close to the ER where I work, our CrossFit box and lots of toddler-friendly places. On the other hand, our downstairs neighbor was a child-hating jerk and I daily wanted to push him out a window.

FEBRUARY – we traveled to Disney Land to celebrate Barbie’s 50th birthday. This trip coincided with a work trip in San Diego for Josh, so Jack and I went for the whole week and explored together. We went to Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo (where I tormented him with a leash backpack), old town San Diego and the USS Midway with an old family friend! I was proud I explored a city by myself with a 15 month old and survived.

MARCH – We began house hunting fervently. Our neighbor downstairs continued to be a total a-hole (I plotted creative ways to kill him frequently) and we knew that it was going to be impossible to live there with two children under two years of age. Our realtor, Alan, was fantastic. He scrambled to find us houses when he knew the market was bare and sellers had control of everything. He even bravely went to houses with me and Jack while Josh was out of town – we even found THE house and made an offer the same day (my one contingency was I wanted the mini-trampoline in the backyard. Josh said I’m never allowed to make an offer on a house by myself again).

APRIL – Found out Ellie was breech. Did everything in my power to flip her, including headstands, hippy chiropractors, lots of stretching and inversions and even slowing down on working out to give her some room. She flipped. We bought a house. We packed up an apartment. We got a new dog (Zip). We are either masochistic or certifiably insane.

MAY- We moved in and had a baby within two weeks of each other. That was intense. Luckily, we are blessed to have amazing friends and family who dropped everything to move us, unpack boxes and feed us.

JUNE – DECEMBER – some stuff happened. I can’t remember specifics because I haven’t slept a full night since then, so I apologize if I leave almond milk in the cupboard and put my shoes in the fridge from time to time. I’m pretty sure I’ve called my son by our dog’s name and more than once fell asleep in Jack’s bed and woke up covered in drool. I probably have unanswered emails and texts from May, so many apologies to anyone trying to communicate with me.

I had a birthday, I think.
Jack turned 2.
My sister had a baby! After a very dramatic and stressful pregnancy, she now has a sweet baby boy named Wyatt.
We took our first plane trip with two kids (no one died).
The ER is crazy (much more to blog about later on this topic).
Josh turns 30 this year (we’ve been planning his birthday for a long time).
Dr. Doubter is still single.
We have a pretty awesome community of friends and I’ve never been more thankful to live close to my mom than this year.

Just a tip from new moms to friends without kids, if you’re afraid to text and bother us about hanging out or catching up on life, don’t be. We’d rather you be up in our chili, knowing that you care, then wondering why you fell off the face of the earth. We don’t have time to go to the bathroom in peace, let alone to call you. Not using this as excuses, just as a reminder that it’s okay to be a persistent friend. It’s even better to be the friend who brings wine over and helps fold laundry or holds kids while you go to the bathroom (CARALYN).

Our goals for 2014 -
– Live a life of simple abundance: If something comes in to our house, we need to give something away. Trying to live a life of contentment with what we have and learning to be creative with our resources.
– Put away our phones. Connect with people outside of social media. Our kids rooms are “no phone zones” but we want to extend this to other areas of the house.
– Connect with our community. We have ┬áchurch in our neighborhood. We are getting to know our neighbors. We are at a CrossFit box down the street. We want our home to be a place where people come and hang out, eat a good meal and are able to relax.

Ramsey Portraits 07 Ramsey Portraits 10 Ramsey Portraits 50

 

Photos by the amazing Amanda Geier

Happy 2014 from the Ramsey Family! Here’s to more blogging about our crazy life this year. Cheers! (I drank a whole Ace Pear Cider while blogging this – just for you)

 

-hannah.

One Comment leave one →
  1. caralyn corso permalink
    January 23, 2014 12:57 pm

    i think what I like about the way you write is how engaging you are. you should write a book. also, i still love those pictures.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,105 other followers

